The New Direction.

So today I took a big step in my life, I decided to get my Diploma of Business Administration. I have decided to do the course online, and I even applied for my VET-FEE-HELP. You see being a chef just isn’t cutting it money wise. I work long hours (usually from 10am-10/11pm 5-6 days a week) with hardly any breaks and I get paid, to put it lightly, shit. I love being a chef, I have learnt so much but wanting to raise a family and be a chef, really is hard work, its long hours, all day manual work and next to no appreciation. So I decided I want change.45664_10152756879185503_276878526_n

I’m starting to rethink a lot of things in my life, including my career, and to be honest it has a lot to do with Ryker. I know I will return to being a chef while I’m studying, I don’t have a choice. I have no experience in any other industry and no one wants to take on a newbie. I’m only studying for now, and it’s only going to take 8 months, but it’s a start in the right direction.

When I fell pregnant with Ryker I had come to the conclusion that I would be stuck being a chef for the rest of my life, and don’t take me wrong, I have lived and worked in the most beautiful places thanks to being a chef (I lived and worked on Daydream Island in the Whitsundays for 2 years of my life), I have meet the most crazy, inappropriate, nut head people that have the most interesting and explosive lives, and I am proud to say I am one of them. But I don’t see myself being a mother and a chef. It just doesn’t seem feasible. (I know women and men have done it before me, but this is my opinion.)

Daydream Island, a place I called home for 2 years.

Daydream Island, a place I called home for 2 years.

Just being pregnant and being a chef was hard enough. I mean being on your feet for 12/13 hour days then add on 2 hours for travel. It is a mission, and when you work your not on your bum all day, you are on your feet. There is no sit down for 5/10 minutes because your feet hurt. Then there is the cut’s and burn on you. The amount of people who have asked me if I ‘cut’ myself is colossal.  So I thank Ryker for this. Because if it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t of rethought my life. I wouldn’t have decided that if I want to be a parent, a parent that is there for at least some parts of my children’s life, I need to rethink my career.390190_10151443840998601_1377508060_n

Most people would say I am a career driven, money hungry woman. That statement was and most likely still is true. But I need a new career. I will forever have cooking and food as my passion. Because that is what it is. A passion, a love story, but we just need to be separated for a while. So while I will still be a chef in a year’s time, I will hopefully also have a Diploma of Business Administration to go along with it. So when Tim and I do decide to have more children, I will hopefully have a more time forgiving career.

14 thoughts on “The New Direction.

  1. Dneika, sounds like good thinking. My female cousin is a chef and she’s now moving towards food styling. Her partner is a chef and they’ve travelled very extensively but I htink they’re starting to think about a family and finding a balance that works. Good luck! xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s tough work trying to figure out what to do when being a chef and wanting a family, I have co-workers that do it. But you can see the strain it puts on their life, and the longing to be at home with their children when they are missing out on so much of their life.
      Thank you
      Dneika X

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was on the Status of Women Committee for 3 years at Gosford Council and have quite an interest in the work-family balance thing. I would also add self to that mix because as well as going to work and loving and spending time with your family, you still need to nurture and at least visit “you”. Have that space in the world that is your rock…even, at times, your pebble.
        What I am starting to hear and it’s the odd voice in the wilderness but I’ve started hearing women say that we have choices but we can’t do everything. For me, that is a relief. Somehow, each of us needs to work out what our priorities are and somehow see if we can work out a situation that suits us best. We’ve put people before money and given my health, haven’t had too much choice there either. Just trying to make the best of what we’ve got. WE own our home, albeit with a mortgage but we do have that base. That’s important for us but not for everyone.
        Although losing your son has forced you to think about these things more deeply, it’s good to nut out what you and your partner want and how that looks. You don’t have to live anyone else’s life.
        I will tell you that my kids aren’t easy and my son put a hole in his wall on Mother’s Day night while my husband was out and I’m going to be patching it up with him and telling Geoff later. My husband has had enough stress lately. Hope you are having an okay day. I am walking every day along the beach whiile the sun is out and finding it very therapeutic xx Rowena

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dneika, it is so good that you think of being with your baby first. Like me, I have set aside the career. For now, they need us most when they’re little. They will be little only once. Being a mom is a tough job but at the same time most rewarding even if we do not get paid. I am sure the time will come soon we will have all the time for our career. Good luck! : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

